harpcolumn

Much older Triplett Axline, considering purchase

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Much older Triplett Axline, considering purchase

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    tamara-murphy
    Participant

Opinions are appreciated. For all intents and purposes, i’m a beginner, though i studied pedal harp for a short while many years ago.

I’ve just come across a roughly 20-year-old Triplett Axline 30. I’m renting it for the next few weeks to take lessons on, but I’d like to know your thoughts on purchasing an older model like this.

I should say that what I fell in love with was the sound–so much sound for a reasonably small harp, and clear, bell-like tones.

I “played” it next to a much newer R Harp, and a Dusty Strings FH 32, and while they were both gorgeous–such lush low tones on that R!–I found myself returning to the Triplett.

It has a couple of issues, some cosmetic, and some which may become bigger issues–dings to the finish in a few places, a small crack in the fore pillar, and a grain line crack (no separation, yet) in the lower portion of the soundboard.

Also, I know a little about Triplett’s current construction methods from their website, but I’m curious about the older models, and how well they hold up. I love this harp, but I wonder if I’m finding it at the end of it’s functional life? What is the “life expectancy rate” for a lever harp, anyway?

Any opinions, suggestions, etc. are much appreciated. And if you can suggest a fair price to offer, I’d appreciate that too. 😉

Thanks so very much for sharing your knowledge. I’m so looking forward to this journey.

andee-craig
    Participant

When I was shopping for my harp I also was going back and forth between the Triplett Axline and a Dusty 32!

tamara-murphy
    Participant