harpcolumn

Moving from lever to pedal harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Moving from lever to pedal harp

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    erinlawrence15
    Participant

Hi everyone! Has anyone moved from a lever harp to a pedal harp, as an adult? I have some questions about your experience. Do you still play your lever harp? Did it make a big difference for you? If it did, how?

I’m an adult (41, ugh) pianist. I’ve been playing a Troubadour II for 3 years, and love it. I’m a public school music teacher and a part-time church choir director, so I don’t have any grand plans to be an orchestral harpist. I’d like to play at church regularly, and maybe also for some small events. I don’t know that a pedal harp is necessary for any of this, and it would be quite an investment – but gosh who doesn’t want a beautiful pedal harp!

So, I’m just wondering if anyone else has consciously taken this plunge, and if it was life-changing, or not exactly, and how it affected your harp life. Thanks for reading!

wil-weten
    Participant

I think the most important question would be: why would you be willing to move to a pedal harp? Is it the kind of sound? Is it the easier chromatic possibilities? Is it the looks? Or something else?

As for playing in church and/or some small events, you don’t need a pedal harp. There are lots of professionals performing with a quality lever harp. Also, a pedal harp is not as easy to transport as a lever harp.

As to sound: is it the kind of sound or the kind of volume?
    As to chromatic possibilities: if you’ve got quality levers which are well adjusted, you may be surprised how versatile a lever harp can be.
    As to looks: have you thought of a L&H Prelude?

Your question: who doesn’t want a beautiful pedal harp?