harpcolumn

Move the harp into the car alone

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Move the harp into the car alone

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Emily Rose
    Participant

I’m curious if people use to move their pedal harps into the car alone.
    I’m a bit new to this, and I always use to ask a friend for help when
    I’m moving my harp. But I wish to learn how to do it alone. Do you feel
    it’s safe enough to move the harp alone? I’m scared it’s to heavy for
    me, and fear that it will fell or I will loose it.

susan-ash
    Participant

Why don’t you practice getting it into the car with someone at the ready should it start to go south.

The first time I moved my pedal harp I had my husband just walk alongside of me. I didn’t want him to do anything…..not hold the door, not open the car….nothing. I just wanted him there as a spotter incase. Everything went fine, and from that time on I move it alone.

kreig-kitts

Loading my pedal harp was excruciating the first few times I did it. With practice it got much easier and now I can load it relatively quickly. Of course it’s quite heavy, but you eventually get a feel for the harp’s balance and know where to hold it and how to get it into your vehicle. A friend can still be very useful, especially if it’s someone who’s helped you before. I’ve found that you shouldn’t give a friend too complex a task if they’re not familiar with it.