harpcolumn

Morley Hempson 34

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Morley Hempson 34

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Mary Song
    Participant

Hello,

I just discovered the Morley Hempson 34 and it looks beautiful. Does anyone have any experience with it?

Tacye
    Participant

I find the Hempson is a respectable student harp, easy and consistent to
    play and with levers which, in my experience, do the job.

Mary Song
    Participant

Thanks for sharing your experience. Which other harps will you recommend? I am an amateur who has been playing

Tacye
    Participant

I can’t think of any winter festivals.

renate-kvalsvik
    Participant

Hi
    I’m Norwegian, too, and I own a Morley Hempson 34. It is indeed beautiful, and all in all an adequate harp for learning. This may just be my harp, but it has always had a big problem with buzzing strings. This is mainly due to the levers, because they make some of the strings buzz when they are engaged. I believe the problem may be that they are made of plastic, and therefore tend to bend a bit away from the string (if you see what I mean, I’m not too good at explaining things) and not engage the string as much as they should.
    Another thing is the sound. It is not as good as I would like. I like a deep, mellow and warm sound in a harp, and my Hempson has more of a bright tone, but kind of flat and not very resonant.
    If I could go back and choose again, I would not choose it, even though it is very affordable compared to other harps. How about looking at the Ravenna 34, which has a lovely sound from what I hear (although I haven’t heard one in person) or a Lyon & Healy Trubadour. I’ve played several of those, and most of them sound lovely. These harps are a bit more expensive, but it’s worth a few months of extra saving, in my opinion.