Looking for harpist’s I’ve known…

John Manno on #150112

Suzanne Handel, Judy Sullivan, Robin Schulze, Kate Krahl…

Are you out there, somewhere?

Participant
    unknown-user on #150113

The last I heard of Suzanne Handel was that she won an orchestra position in Adelaide, Australia, if I remember correctly. I do remember that my aunt and your uncle were neighbors in the same little building in New York City.

John Manno on #150114

Hey Thanks!

My uncle?? Which uncle? Hello Saul! btw….

Participant
    unknown-user on #150115

hi John Manno!

Participant
    unknown-user on #150116

Hi John,

What a blast from the past. A friend pointed me to this site. I haven’t been harping professionallly for many years now. I followed Nancy Allen to the Univeristy of Michigan where I got a Masters in Music. Its a long story, but I ended up staying at Michigan and getting my Ph.D. in English. I am now a full Professor at Penn State University in State College, PA, where I live with my husband who is a Professor in the Department of History. My specialty is modernist American poetry and I’ve written some about the influence of modernist music on the poets I study.

Where are you? Are you still harping? Kate Krahl also went the academic route. She is a teacher of highschool History in Scarsdale, NY. She is married with two lovely kids. I’m not sure if she plays anymore these days.

My harp, I must admit, is gathering dust at the moment. Every once in a while, I get inspired to practice and play, but my professional life always seems to get in the way of a serious comeback.

I know that Suzanne made the move to Australia some years ago, but I don’t know where she is now.

Hi, Judy! I’m glad to see you are still in the business.

Wow, Aspen seems like a million years ago, doesn’t it? I still have lots of great memories, however.

Take care,
    Robin

Keymaster
    HBrock25 on #150117

Dear John–