harpcolumn

Looking for beginning harp books

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Repertoire Looking for beginning harp books

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    romola
    Participant

Hi all,

I’m just learning to play the harp, and my teacher recommended a few books to get me started:
    -Levers Up, Thumbs Up
    -Fun from the First (vol. 1 and 2)

It looks as if these books are old or out of print, and the only places I can find them online are rather expensive for me. Does anyone have any ideas on where I can find these books affordably, or does anyone have old copies they’d be willing to sell me?

Thanks so much, and all my best!

Myds
    Participant

Welcome the the world of the harp! Depending on where you live, you’re likely to have to order your harp books. Fun from the First is still published. There are many sources out there, but you need to shop around if you want the best price. I just checked harp connection and you can pick up both volumes for $17.50. Harp.com also has them, but they are $26.50. I don’t know what the shipping is – it depends where you live. I live in Canada, so I wince every time I order material. You might want to check with local harp teachers. They may keep a supply of beginner books and/or order books on a semi-regular basis. They may be willing to order the books for you the next time they go shopping. You will likely have to chip in a bit for shipping. It certainly would be worth it to ask?

Gretchen Cover
    Participant