harpcolumn

Longer lessons

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Longer lessons

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Molly
    Participant

Hi everyone!! I am new to this forum, glad to have found a harp community! There are so many good topics on here. 🙂

I started playing the harp about 8 months ago, so I am still a beginner/late beginner. I am fortunate to have found a wonderful harp teacher who I have been working with since I started playing. She is teaching me the Suzuki method and I am currently about half-way through Book 1. I take a 30-minute lesson once a week, and practice at home for about 15 minutes each day. What I am running into, is that after each lesson I will pick up on the new materials quickly (a good problem to have!) but by the middle of the week, I am ready for more. I always end up trying to work ahead on my own, but I am coming up against a wall because my abilities are still limited. Especially since I am still learning to read music. Is this an indication that I should be taking longer lessons? Or doing more independent study?

Any suggestions would be appreciated 🙂

Biagio
    Participant

I think you should discuss this with your teacher. Some teachers want the student not to deviate from the assignment. Others might encourage you to try different things if you are bored and feel that you have mastered the assignment. All my teachers have suggested a set time period (every day) of 30 minutes to an hour divided more or less as follows (hour example):

Warm up and exercises – 10 min.
    Work on assigned piece – 20 min.
    Review earlier pieces – 20 min.
    Fun/improvise – 10 min.