harpcolumn

Light bowing in the soundboard ?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Light bowing in the soundboard ?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    mike-c
    Participant

I recently purchased a used 46-string concert grand from a well-known maker. I am new to the harp and so far I love it.

However, while tuning and replacing the strings, I noticed that when I look straight down the soundboard, holding my eye as closely as I can near where the neck meets the soundboard, I can see roundness pushing up toward the strings that seems most noticeable between the 5th and 4th octaves.

I have been ginger with the tuning and had the harp examined by an expert who said it was in good shape, but I noticed this after she looked at it, and I just need to know if that is normal or if it means there is too much strain on the soundboard.

Thanks,

Mike

kathy-chanik
    Participant

Not to worry, that’s perfectly normal, even desirable for the best sound.

mike-c
    Participant

Thanks for the reply. It’s about 15 years old.

Would you happen to know anything about cracks in the verathane finish, such as how severe it is, how common that is to happen, and how urgently I should get it re-varnished ? I would guess that cracked varnish would allow moisture in and out of the wood which would be bad, but I don’t know for a fact. There are various cracks 1-2″ in length across the soundboard and neck that are only on the varnish layer, not the wood itself.

Thanks,

Mike

carl-swanson
    Participant