harpcolumn

lever harp dilema

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories lever harp dilema

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hello, I have been playing a harpsicle lap harp for about two years and i am well over due for a

o. t.
    Participant

Did u check out: lyonhealycpo dot com ?

There are many lever harps from Lyon and Healy under $3000. Some of them have like 1-year warranty.

A Troubadour is a good lever harp. I’ve used it for a month at school and I like the sound enough. I have an Aoyama 140 at home. Personally, I’d say LH is a little better sound-wise, but Aoyama one looks a lot better.

Check with LH if you can trade back a lever for a pedal (bounty program) just in case you change your mind later on… Right now a pedal tension seems too much because you’re practicing on a harpsicle. But once you’ve moved on the a lever with medium tension, maybe a pedal tension won’t be too bad anymore.

You can get a fully levered (Truitt)

Zen Sojourner
    Participant

I recommend either a Blevins or the Merlin R-Harp.

barbara-brundage
    Participant

Also check with VA and Atlanta Harp Center. They make several trips to FL during the year for various events and just to deliver instruments and they’re always happy to bring along more instruments for someone to try. They’re very accommodating. I think one of them *may* be in Orlando this weekend for the harp event, but I don’t know:

http://www.harpcolumn.com/calendar/item?event_id=6482687

Call Bill Webster, (google Webster Strings) and talk to him. He will put you on to some owners who have his harps. His harps are great, well built, beautiful sounding and he stands behind them. And they are VERY affordable. Check them out.

Briggsie

Jerusha Amado
    Participant

<>