harpcolumn

Learning to play harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Young Harpists Learning to play harp

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

I am seven years old and I play the lap harp I got for Christmas last
    year. I would like to know if learning to play the piano would help
    me with my lap harp? I also would like to know if there are any harp
    teachers near Harleyville (Lansdale) PA. Thank you.

Judy Lavelle

Mindy Cutcher
    Participant

Dear Judy, Yes, piano helps with learning the harp, but is not neccesary to start. I am a harp teacher in Oreland, PA (near Fort Washington). You can email me with questions or inquire about lessons- mcutcher@juno.com. Seven is a great age to start.
    Mindy Cutcher

unknown-user
    Participant

Dear Judy,
    I played piano for three years before I started harp and it really helped me. As you know, piano and harp are kind of set up the same, so many things you learn on one will help with the other. I have been playing harp for almost three years and people have told me it seems like I’ve been taking lessons for longer than that. And I’m sure that is because I took piano first. So I think it’s a good idea to take a few(or more) piano lessons.

Rafaella Fox

Ruth Mar
    Participant

I’ve played the piano for 11 years and the harp for 2 1/2, and I think that the piano both helps and hinders, though helps more.

unknown-user
    Participant

Dear Judy,