harpcolumn

Initial Regulation For New Harps

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Initial Regulation For New Harps

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    rosey-brumm
    Participant

I am no expert but Regulation is when the Harp Maker performs the final master tuning that sets the tone and pitch of the open strings and the engaged levers, ensuring that the semitone is exactly one half step above the open note, all the way along the harp. But I purposely do not call them sharping levers as depending on the Key they produce either Flats or Sharps.
    Harps with full levers need regulating at other times also.
    My capacity to hear pitch, tone, is above electronic equipment, which can be a two edge sword with levers, and regulation. In the main you should be able to put your tuner on and note the open string and then engage the lever and not the sharp is it a perfect F# or off? When my equipment says OK i can often hear a muddiness in chords if their is a problem.
    I have many floor harps from the US Troubadour VI, 4 Dusty Strings FH models, 2 Triplett models Eclipse and Celtic II. I have never had trouble with the big names in tone and the quality when engaging their levers. I love Camac, L&H Performance levers, Dusty Loveland.

Recently I have purchased a harp of lesser quality harp but still considered a good harp made more locally but from US parts.
    When I tune to Eb, the levers when engaged sound awful. A mixture of poor tone, buzzing, and just when I think it is OK the chords sound out, don’t hold. Strangely though it can sound OK in the Key of C after some tool kit work on the levers.