harpcolumn

In Search Of Inspiration

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play In Search Of Inspiration

Tagged: ,

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hello there,

I made an account of here years ago and just now reactivated it. I’ve been playing the celtic harp for about ten years and would consider myself more on the advanced side. I felt the need to reactivate my account because lately I feel burnt out on my harp. I don’t dream of ever quitting this wonderful instrument, but lately, I’m just neglecting practice.

I spend without a doubt two to four hours practicing violin everyday. Now there was a six month period a few years ago that I put my violin in the case for good and even considered selling it. Then something happenend…inspiration struck. I feel like I’ve put more into my violin in the last two years than I did the last twelve years of playing it altogether. I’m so glad I didn’t give up on violin and I know I can’t give up on harp.

What it took for me to pick up my violin again was something new and different to try…something fresh! I need something like that to happen for the harp. I’m no way advanced at playing the instrument…. I’m sure I have much to learn, I’m just stuck and get bored while playing. I go on YouTube and look at other performers but it dawns on me that I don’t even know that many harpists to even look up. Four that I know of is Loreena Mckennitt, Lisa Lynn, Kim Robertson and Alizbar. I really don’t know that many celtic harpists whereas I can name a number of favorite violinists.

I figured I can find inspiration but learning and listening to other Celtic harpists like I did for the violin. I’m determined to get out of this rut but I was hoping I might receive help here.