harpcolumn

Improvising?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Improvising?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hello, I’m new to these forums (my name’s Ben, I’m 20 years-old, it’s nice to meet you), and also fairly new to the harp, though I played a little bit of piano as a kid as well. I’ve been playing harp for about 10 months now. Anyway, I’d like to start developing my improvisational skills, because I think it would be really fun, and also a handy trick to be able to pull out when people are like, “Play for me, play for me!” 😛

Does anybody have suggestions on how to begin learning to improvise?

rod-c
    Participant

Hi Ben:

Welcome!

michael-rockowitz
    Participant

Ben,
    Welcome to this group.

Angela Biggs

Hi Ben,

I just want to add two cents: whether they are composed on the fly or on paper, two useful techniques in both melody and harmony are repetition and sequence. In the harmony, this might mean setting up a left-hand pattern and using it for all or most of the chords in a section. In the melody, the judicious use of repetition and sequencing of motives helps to a create a line that is more comfortable for the listener, and easier to make up as you go along.

I play harp in a part of the world where apparently nobody cares to hear it; even charities won’t let me play for free! But when I’m visiting family, I find it easiest to respond to the “play for me” request with a short memorized piece that I know cold. It takes some of the pressure off. Music composed for harp therapy is very good for this – short, sweet-sounding, and easy to remember.

kay-lister

OH MY Angela

tony-morosco
    Participant

Some excellent information already.

To add some: