I thought you’d enjoy this one…

• Participant
    carl-swanson on #146557

I just received this in an email:

Wanted: Musicians to play in restaurant

Craigslist Ad: We are a small & casual restaurant in downtown. We are looking for musicians to play, gratis, in our restaurant to promote their work and sell their CD. This is not a daily job, but only for special events which will eventually turn into a nightly event if we get positive response. More Jazz, Rock, & smooth type music, around the world and mixed cultural music. Are you interested to promote your work? Please reply back ASAP.

Reply:
    Happy new year! I am a musician with a big house looking for a restaurateur to promote their restaurant and come to my house to make dinner, gratis, for my friends and me. This is not a daily job, but only for special events which will eventually turn into a nightly event if we get positive response. More fine dining & exotic meals and mixed Ethnic Fusion cuisine. Are you interested to promote your restaurant? Please reply back ASAP.

Spectator
    Sid Humphreys on #146558

Like!

Participant
    Jerusha Amado on #146559

Ditto!

Jerusha

Participant
    barbara-kraichy–2 on #146560

I enjoyed that! What a great response to people who have the audacity to want harpists to play for gratis.

Participant
    kent-vogel on #146561

Good job Mr. Swanson! They remind me of Huck Finn giving the neighborhood kids a chance to whitewash the fence!

Participant
    diana-lincoln on #146562

That response made me laugh!!!Way to go!!!

kay-lister on #146563

This reminds me of what happened to me a few years ago.

Participant
    andee-craig on #146564

Kay, re: ‘playing for exposure’…my teacher used to say, “People have been known to die from exposure!”!

Participant
    carl-swanson on #146565

Kay- I think if anyone asked me to play a job for free I might respond “Why I’d love to, provided you pay my bills for this month.”

Participant
    jessica-wolff on #146566