column

How would you go about playing piano music on a lever harp?

Home Forums Coffee Break How would you go about playing piano music on a lever harp?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    bella-bella
    Participant

I know I’m not experienced enough to play the types of music that I mention, but would like to one day.

As you know, there is a larger choice of music for the piano. I had a look at a piece that I would like to play one day, but I’m not sure if it would be possible to play on the lever harp.

If you want to see the music sheet, it can be downloaded here. There are other examples, but I won’t post them all:

http://www.ffpianomelody.com/pianosheets/Final%20Fantasy%2011/Final%20Fantasy%20XI%20Original%20Soundtrack%20Piano%20Solo%20Sheet%20Music/Part%20one/14%20Sarutabaruta.rar It automatically downloads.

The first page is doable, but the third page (maybe 2nd) looks difficult. Especially with the harp tuned into Eb.

Thank you for taking your time to read this!

Tacye
    Participant

First learn to play the lever harp really well:-)

bella-bella
    Participant

Thank you Tacye!

So you think that when I get to that level, I will know how to adjust it myself? I would like to be able to do that.

I don’t quite understand the keys (Eb etc). My teacher has just told me how change levers to get a few of them, but I will need to properly learn about them in my own time.

Would this potentially involve tuning the harp into a different key? I wasn’t sure if this could be bad for the strings.

Tacye
    Participant

You won’t miraculously know how to do it- like anything you will get better with practice and study, starting with simple music and working up.

daniele-di
    Participant

Hello,

eheh I understand how you feel, one of my dream is to be able to play Aerith Theme from ff7 on the harp 😛