column

Hindemith

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Hindemith

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

I am looking at the Hindemith Sonata. I have the Salzedo edition, as carefully transmitted through Lucile Lawrence. In the opening of the second movement there is the rising phrase that reoccurs twice more throughout the movement. The fingering given actually came from Mr. Grandjany. After the first octave, the left hand and right hand play their pairs of fifths as written, then on the next beat, the second beat of the second measure, the right thumb slides from a-flat to g-flat and the left hand plays the remaining d-flat followed by b-flat and f with a 2-13 fingering. When I studied with Miss Chalifoux, she gave me another fingering, which I recall as playing as written until beat two of the second measure, and then playing L g-flat d-flat13- b-flat 2- d-flat1 and right f3- a-flat2- f c-flat13, with the left hand playing the final fifth by itself.

I have come up with four or five more fingerings today, plus the possibility of playing it all as written. The problem is that possibility of a buzz or abruptly stopped a-flat on the second beat of the second measure and how to avoid it. It depends a lot also on your finger size and length. Someone with long, thin fingers may have no trouble avoiding touching the a-flat with the next notes placed.

How smooth or choppy or bright should this arpeggio be? It is a double arpeggio, really. Should it be choppy all the way, or choppy, ending bright; smooth all the way, or smooth then bright; or choppy, smooth, bright; or choppy smooth? To me, the 24 13 fingerings have a choppy kind of articulation, playing single notes with each hand is smooth, and alternating hands 12 12 is bright. The bright notes at the top can leap out, not in scale with what leads up to it. Choppy might not project or sound clear, and smooth might not have a Hindemith essence to it.