Help! Severe thumb pain/soreness playing new harp

Posted In: How To Play

• Participant
    katewilde on #195705

I’ve been playing harp for about 3 1/2 years, and just advanced from a Dusty Strings Ravenna 26 to a Lyon & Healy 38 string Prelude (strung mostly with nylon on the upper half). I’ve had it two days and have played for a cumulative two hours each day, I think… This morning I woke up with intense pain up and down my thumb (the finger itself, close-to-the-surface kind of pain- not a deep ache). Stiff as well, and very painful to bend. I was hitting the bass notes pretty hard, and maybe not correctly.

I did some hot/cold compress in the morning, then splinted it all day and just got some Arnica gel to put on it. It’s feeling much better but I’m afraid to play again too soon. I read somewhere that when beginning with pedal tension, to practice only 10-15 minutes at a time. Is this true??? I’m also experiencing soreness in my biceps.

My question is: is this normal for a new pedal-tension player?? How long until I can play for a few hours without straining myself or having pain? Dusty Strings harps have medium tension, so is this change of tension enough of a shift to cause this amount of pain?

I’ve been waiting for this moment for so long, to have more of a bass range available, and I was singing so blissfully and happily along with the tones….. Maybe I lost myself there for a bit….. 🙂

Participant
    Sylvia on #195706

No help here.  Just wondering why you would be playing the bass notes (wires?) with the thumb.  You mean your thumb as in the top of an octave in the bass?

Participant
    carl-swanson on #195708

Kate- The first question that pops into my head is this: Are you studying with a teacher, or have you worked with a teacher in the past, or are you completely self taught?

Participant
    katewilde on #195717

Sylvia, yes using the thumb at the top of an octave. Maybe I just was plucking too dramatically? I dunno.

Participant