harpcolumn

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hi, I am 23 years old, and i am fascinated by harps. I was just wondering if i am too old to start wanting to learn to play the harp… I am clueless about the harp, as far as which one to buy, is it difficult to learn, can it be self-taught? Things like that any help will be greatly appreciated.

Marisol

23 too old????? I hardly think so. I guess if you wanted to make a really serious concert career it might be — and not even sure about that, but geez, you are only 23 years old!!! Lots and lots of people start when they are in their 40’s and 50’s and probably beyond. Some play an instrument already and some don’t. If you don’t, and you really want to learn the harp well, you will learn about music and music theory as you learn the harp. I STRONGLY suggest you find a good teacher. There are playing techniques that are very important to learn correctly in order to play well. Learn them properly right from the get-go and you won’t have to work to correct things you have been doing wrong which have become habit.