harpcolumn

Hello – I'm learning the harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Coffee Break Hello – I'm learning the harp

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 33 total)
  • Author
    Beginner Sarah
    Participant

Hello Everyone,

I’ve just joined ‘Harpcolumn’! I’m a beginner harpist who has started learning to play the harp as part of an experiment in learning an instrument from scratch using only Open Education Resources (ie. free resources on the internet). The experiment is part of a university course I’m doing about teaching and learning online. I’m a clarinet and sax teacher so this is a real leap into the unknown for me.

I’ve only been learning for three weeks but I’m already falling in love with the instrument. I can only play a few simple Christmas Carols and ‘Loch Lomond’ but I’m really enjoying learning by ear (I’m usually pretty wedded to music) and fascinated how that learning in this way gives you amazing opportunities to improvise.

It would be really interesting to hear from other harp players who have learned using only (or predominantly) online resources. Obviously, as a clarinet and sax teacher, I’m aware of all the advantages of learning face to face but I’m realising there are some advantages in the online method too! For example, I’m finding being able to go over lessons ad nauseam is very helpful.

I realise that some harp teachers offer lessons via skype and this is something I might explore in the future but the terms of my experiment means that I must use only free resources for the next six weeks!

I look forward to learning from all the posts in the Harpcolumn fora.

Best Wishes,

Sarah

wil-weten
    Participant

Hi Sarah,
    You may like to have a look at Josh Layne’s ‘Harp Tuesdays’ and ‘Slow Motion Mondays’ on Youtube.

Beginner Sarah
    Participant

Hi wil-weten,