harpcolumn

Height of the Harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Height of the Harp

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    A. Riley
    Participant

I saw a youtube of the Chieftains with the great Derek Bell ( see http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQd51OItvTU&feature=related ) and noticed his playing position. There’s a good long look at about 1:40 on the linked video.

His harp is medium-sized, and he has it standing on the floor, with the kneeblock at the level of his chest.

I’ve been taught to set a harp up (with harp feet, etc.) so that the kneeblock is about at ear level.

Now I’m just a beginner and who am I to question the great Derek Bell — but can you tell me more about that? Where’s your kneeblock?

A. Riley
    Participant

Let me try that link again.

Chieftains with Derek Bell

andee-craig
    Participant

I had a look at the video (great tunes!), and I do think most would find it hard to play comfortably and properly with the harp that low. (I don’t know what a kneeblock is)

If it was me, I’d have sat in a lower chair or put the harp on a small pedestal or box so that it came up to my shoulder rather than my armpit as it does on Derek.

Many excellent folk musicians don’t always use proper ways of holding instruments (just look at some fiddlers who hold the fiddle to the middle of the chest rather than under the chin!) and do other things that we would consider wrong.

If you’re like most of us, we need every advantage we can get so proper posture, fingering, etc is necessary.

If you’re Derek Bell or a host of others you can get away with it based on sheer talent!

Tacye
    Participant

I like my knee block higher than that, though not as high as some.

It seems like Maeve Gilchrist plays with her harp fairly low as well.

kreig-kitts