harpcolumn

harp history and composition

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp harp history and composition

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

I NEED HELP! I’m currently researching the history of the harp from

its origins to the present, using a worldwide perspective. I would

like to find out its place in every country, town, city, etc, in the

world. I am also interested in the differnt harp musics of the

world, again from the beginnings until now. I am a composer, so any

books related to composition are helpful, but those specifically

related to the harp are most important. Books along the lines that I

am reading now are Harps and Harpists, by Roslyn Rensch,

Temperment, by Stuart Isacoff, Latin American Harps, History, Music

and Techniques, by Alfredo Rolando Ortiz, and Flowers of the Orient,

By Janet Correll (the last two include music). Any input is helpful.

Thank you very much!

unknown-user
    Participant

World harp traditions are a passion of mine as well. Here is an additional bibliography to look up, and you can contact me for more info if you like.

Hale, Thomas A. Griots and Griottes. Indiana University Press: Bloomington, 1998. (This covers an West African harp tradition.)

Kinnaird, Alison and Keith Sanger. Tree of Strings: a History of the the Harp in Scotland. Kinmor Music: Midlothian, Scotland, 1992.

Williamson, Muriel C. The Burmese Harp: Its Classical Music, Tunings, and Modes. Southeast Asia Publications of Northern Illinois University: DeKalb, 2000.

Schechter, John M. The Indispensable Harp: Historical Development, Modern Roles, Configurations, and Performance Practices in Ecuador and Latin America. The Kent State University Press: Kent, OH, 1992.