harpcolumn

Harp for a very, very young child

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Harp for a very, very young child

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    HBrock25
    Participant

Hello,
    So I know this probably sounds ridiculous, but my 2 yr. old really wants to play harp. I am a piano teacher and she has been fooling around at the piano for the past year. She gets general music concepts and sings all day long. She’s a pretty smart kid. I am also a choir director and one of my accompanists also plays the harp (which is where she got the idea). For the past two weeks she has been telling us that “Maddalena wants to play harp.” She gets all excited every time she sees one.

Let me start off by saying that I don’t have high hopes of starting her this early so that she becomes this incredible musician or anything….I just want her to play an instrument that she loves and always have music in her life. I begged my mom to let me play piano until she finally gave in around age 3, so this isn’t a completely strange concept for us.

1. Would it be totally ridiculous to get her a small harp to start experimenting with?

2. I was thinking about getting a flatsicle harp so that I could also learn and play some simple hymns at church with my choir. Would a flatsicle be a good starter harp for both of us?

3. If I get the stand for the harp will she be able to play it? I liked the size of the flatsicle because it looked manageable for her. However, I’ve been reading on here that it’s really hard to manage while playing.