harpcolumn

Harp chord finger spans

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists Harp chord finger spans

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hello. I am a beginning composer trying to increase my harp writing competency. Can anyone tell me what are the safe finger spans for non-arpeggiated chords? Based on what I’ve been able to find out so far, here is what I have:

Fingers 1 to 2 (max of 7 strings)
    Fingers 2 to 3 (max of 4 strings)
    Fingers 3 to 4 (max of 5 strings)
    Max span of a chord is 10 strings

Are these spans correct, or off?

Also, I read somewhere that for rolled chords, the max spans can be increased by one string. True, or not?

Thank you for any help you can provide on writing for harp chords.

Norman

unknown-user
    Participant

For me:

1 to 2 = 9 strings

2 to 3 = 7 strings

3 to 4 = 6 strings

max=12

Yes, the span can be increased by 2 strings (in my case) maybe three by rolling.

side note:

unknown-user
    Participant

Sam, thank you very much for your helpful input. It sounds like your hands have a larger span than most harpists.

I think for the most part I will try to stay within conservative limits since I never know who might be playing a given harp part.

Norman

My 3rd to 4th fingers can just barely reach 4 strings, and I have met harpists with fingers even shorter than mine. Also, you can’t have large spans between every finger or you would get no grip on the strings, and risk having a tinny sound. Sometimes, when presented with huge chords that I can’t reach, I have to leave out a note or re-voice the chord. So, write what you want, within reason, but be prepared for the occasional edit by the smaller-handed harpists.