harpcolumn

Harp arrangements for old time fiddle tunes?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Repertoire Harp arrangements for old time fiddle tunes?

• This topic has 8 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 1 year ago by Molly.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    talfryn
    Participant

Hello
    I am looking for suggestion for harp arrangements for American Old time fiddle tunes..
    I normally participate on this forum on the harps and accessories area, because I enjoy building harps as well as playing. I have been playing harp for almost 20 years now. I play all sorts, but mostly French, Welsh and Irish folk dance music, mainly because together with my family and friends we dance and play at Balfolk and Ceilis. Playing celtic dance music is great but every now and then boredom sets in, especially with dance tunes. When that happens I take a break and learn something new for a while, this has lead me to Early/Medieval, Tyrolean harp music etc.. in the past.
    I am at such a point at the moment, so have started a small diversion, playing some American old time fiddle tunes, I lived in the US a few years back and got involved in the Contra scene in Pennsylvania. I know this is very close to celtic music but there is enough change of flavour to make it interesting.
    Theres plenty of Old time fiddle music available out there, but does anyone know of any harp arrangements available. The problem I am having is to make these tunes sound American. My celtic instincts are strong and I end up using standard celtic réel and jig left hands. It would be good to be able to find some good harp arrangements to introduce new habits. As this forum has a lot of American participants I thought I would ask here. Any advice and recommendations would be most welcome..

balfour-knight
    Participant

Hi Talfryn,