harpcolumn

Harp and Guitar

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Harp and Guitar

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hi,

I’m fairly new to the harp, I purchased me BlevinSong 36 a

Wire harpers and Paraguayan harpers play with their fingernails.

Audrey Nickel
    Participant

My teacher plays both wire (with the nails) and nylon.

tony-morosco
    Participant

When I play guitar I use a pick. When doing finger picking I use finger picks. They take a little getting used to, but they work well and many plucked string instrument players use one form or another as the standard way to play (banjo players and Koto players come immediately to mind).

I forget exactly who it is, but one of the harp recording artists who plays both nylon and wire strung harp does something to shape her nails so that they can be used for wire but still don’t get in the way for nylon. Also while some people, like myself, find that any bit of nail gets in the way and keep their nails ultra short I have seen some people who are able to play with a bit of nail without it getting in the way on gut or nylon strung harp. Different people are different and the shape of the fingers and how your nail grows will be an influence. You can try growing out your nails to see exactly how long you can get them before they get in the way on harp, and then see if that is long enough to make use of for guitar.

unknown-user
    Participant

Thank you all for your feedback on this!

Audrey Nickel
    Participant

I wonder if your teacher isn’t more accustomed to gut?

unknown-user
    Participant

Um, are you paying for the teacher’s strings? I think you’re being very unfair to the teacher.

Audrey Nickel
    Participant

Is Jan playing on the teacher’s harp?

Liam M
    Participant

Jan,