harpcolumn

Go Ahead Without a Teacher?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Go Ahead Without a Teacher?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hello! = ) So, regarding lap harps . . . I have a little background in music. From poking around, though, I haven’t found a way yet that would work for me to take lessons, although I suppose that could happen. So, my question is, if I did work out access to a harp but I couldn’t get a teacher, should I still try teaching myself through a book or cassette? I know this probably sounds silly, since I’m not a super musical person and I haven’t had harp experience at all- I’m just scared that I might get started on my own and end up so messed up that I’d never be able to play close to properly. Is it possible to teach yourself?

I’m self taught though I’m not sure that I recommend it.

Audrey Nickel
    Participant

I taught myself for the first six months, then sought a teacher (for me it was financial reasons).

sherry-lenox
    Participant

I second Jennifer’s comments, but also add that with harp in particular, it’s really easy to learn bad habits. I haven’t personally seen the two learning systems mentioned, but I’ve followed the users of both online, and the two teachers involved are top notch professionals.

The one thing missing when you are teaching yourself is constant feedback. Even though I’ve played many instruments, I needed ongoing support when I started to learn how a good hand position felt and what I had to do in order to learn it. That said, the best way for me to learn anything is that way. If you are someone who can learn by watching and imitating, you may well be able to learn by yourself.

Harpworld is a wonderful place to be, no matter how you get there!

kay-lister

Hi Jessica,

tony-morosco
    Participant