harpcolumn

Giving your first lessons

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Giving your first lessons

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Sam Karlinski
    Participant

How did all the teachers here on the forums get into teaching? What were your first lessons as a teacher like?

Angela Biggs

A person I worked with in the tech booth at church said his mother had a harp she’d bought years ago and never learned how to play. He asked if I could teach her. I told him I’m self-taught, but I could show her what I know. We started out very informally, but eighteen months later we’re still going strong, and I converted her to the formal system I use for my voice students a few months ago. At first I didn’t charge her because I was just sharing my knowledge with her; now I don’t charge her because I intend to use what I’m learning from teaching her to create an actual teaching studio. (Such as it is. This isn’t Boston; I’m the only harper for 48 minutes in any direction, and the only harp “teacher” I’ve been able to find for at least 80-90 minutes. If not me, then no one!) As a next step, I’m teaching an “Introduction to the Harp” class at the local community college in the spring. I’m hoping that will earn me more students, or at the very least get some people interested enough that they’ll teach themselves to play like I did!