harpcolumn

Getting blisters on fingers

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Getting blisters on fingers

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Zen Sojourner
    Participant

Everybody’s different.

Evangeline Williams
    Participant

The times I am most likely to get blisters are rehearsals with bands/orchestras before performances…especially all-day rehearsals.

unknown-user
    Participant

I love playing my harp and I’m new to it. I like to practice for a
    couple of hours a day but find myself having to give up early due to
    inflammation and the development of blisters on my fingertips.

I’m playing a gut strung concert tension harp. I suppose all I really
    want to know is how long will it take my fingers to harden so I can
    practice as much as I want to?

Thanks

donna-benier

Claire, I have played harp for 25 years and a long time ago discovered that if I put a little bit of glycerin lotion just on my fingertips, I could play without getting blisters. (My brand is “Camille Beckman” but there are several on the market.) I buy it by the tube and keep one in my gig bag for long performances. Don’t overdo it, and DON’T get it on the palm of your hands..it’s slippery.

unknown-user
    Participant

When I have heavy-duty practice time (That is, about 6 hours a day) I get these annoying bubbles on my skin. When I pop them (usually with like my teeth or something) this water-like stuff comes out, and then the remaining deflated bubble turns into a lovely callus. Great image, no? The bubbles hurt like hell though.

Now that school’s out for the summer, and BUTI is looming near, I’m having more and more heavy-duty practice days. Oiy.

unknown-user
    Participant

hmmmm I disagree with most people here….. I don’t think you should want for your