harpcolumn

Following up leads from Bridal Shows

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists Following up leads from Bridal Shows

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    barbara-kraichy–2
    Participant

I have been playing bridal shows for many years and have followed up the lead lists from the various bridal shows with e-mails and/or phone calls to each bride. I’m beginning to wonder if it is worth the time spent to do this or if it’s better to wait and rely on them contacting me of their interest just from receiving cards and brochures.

alice-freeman
    Spectator

I’ve been doing Bridal Shows in two different towns for the last 5 years and usually book 1 or 2 weddings from each show. I have given up on doing any follow-up from the lead lists. None of my efforts ever led to additional bookings.

For what it’s worth, I live/work in a rural area where we might have100 brides attend a show on good day. Local word-of-mouth seems to work better for me.

— Alice in windy Wyoming

catherine-rogers
    Participant

I used to do (very expensive) print advertising that furnished lead lists and have done a few bridal shows which gave them, but I never got any response to calls, emails, mailers or any kind of follow-up from me. I figure if they’re interested in harp music, they’ll use my readily available contact info to reach me, but my pursuing them never resulted in any paying work. The best you can do is let people know you exist and what service you offer; then it’s up to them.

Sidney Dharmavaram
    Participant

I did my first bridal show this year.

onita-sanders
    Participant

I have long complained about bridal shows.

barbara-kraichy–2
    Participant