harpcolumn

Following the conductor

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists Following the conductor

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Jennifer Yoneji
    Participant

I’m fairly new to orchestral work. I’m self-taught and have no orchestral training other than what I’m getting as I play with the orchestra now and for the past three years. We are working on arias from various operas and I am having a terrible time following the conductor. The singers haven’t joined us, yet, and that is just going to be worse. When I practice at home, I can pretty much follow the tempo (I think), but last night at our first rehearsal, I was so lost most of the time. I spoke with the conductor after rehearsal and he said that he’ll come by and work with me which I think should help. I’ve had trouble before, but this is awful. I play in 10 pieces and I need to be able to follow him especially when we’re all following the singers. If anyone has some help for me, I’d sure appreciate it. I have no teacher. There is no trained harpist in town. I feel pretty alone. Thank you.

louise-vickerman
    Participant

I’m sorry you’re having such a hard time, playing well in orchestra takes practice so hang in there and don’t give up, it’s good he’s willing to work with you!