harpcolumn

Flailing fingers left hand

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Flailing fingers left hand

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    ann

Hello, I have been playing the harp for several years and in the past two years I have noticed at times trembling and sometimes downright flailing in ring and middle finger of left hand when extending my hand to play the bass strings. This is really disturbing to me, especially when performing. Has anyone else had this problem and if so, what do you did you do for it?

This sounds like something you should consult a doctor about. Do you notice the same thing when away from the harp if you are extending your hand to pick up an object?

ann

Thank you very much, Elizabeth. I truly hadn’t noticed, probably because it is my left hand (and I am right handed). But yes, the trembling/shaking is most definitely there in those fingers when I extend my hand to reach for something, or pick something up. So I will make an appointment to see my doctor. BTW, I have had two performances since I posted, and had the same problem both times. Thankfully, I was able to complete each action and connect with the strings, but I had to firmly close, squeeze my hand, and remain closed before forming my next chord, to try and control the shaking, which meant my hand was not at all relaxed when playing, and I am sure this was very obvious to others. Whatever the problem is, it is getting worse, and occurs a lot of the time now when I play, whether at home alone, or playing with or for others. It is so aggravating.