harpcolumn

Fingering Technique

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Fingering Technique

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    HBrock25
    Participant

Hello~ I have a question for you teachers involving the fingering sequencing.

Is there always only one “right” way to accomplish the fingering?

I do realize that sequencing now is providing a foundation for more complicated passages. As a beginner, I am trying to follow the several books I own, and my teacher, religiously; however, I have noticed subtle but distinct differences between them in regard to position so I’m wondering about the fingering as well.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Michele

There are usually several options for fingering the same passage, but they have to be musical, yet comfortable. Since we all have different sizes of fingers, etc., there is no one-size-fits-all fingering rule. Practice putting the emphasis on different fingers in the same passage, i.e. a scale, just to develop the ability to bring out the phrasing no matter which fingering you use. However, bear in mind that it is MUCH easier to bring out the phrase if your fingerings are working with you, instead of against you. Sometimes you’re stuck with having a weak finger on a strong beat, but it’s better if you can avoid that. Always try several fingerings before you settle on one, then write that in (in pencil) so you don’t forget.

unknown-user
    Participant