harpcolumn

Finding the first job

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists Finding the first job

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    tess
    Participant

I am a pedal harp student, soon to be a junior in college. I have played the harp for four and a half years, and would like to get a summer job in Houston playing the harp, preferably as background music (my wedding repertoire is not quite ready). Where should I look for my first job, how should I present myself for employment (do I need business cards?, should I give my resume?, etc.), and how much should I charge? Should I ask at places that already have a harpist to see if they need someone to fill in for vacations? I have a pretty basic repertoire of classical, Celtic, early music, etc., enough for an hour or two without repeating. I probably need to add more pop. Any advice?
    Thanks in advance!

barbara-brundage
    Participant

Hi, Tess.

>Should I ask at places that already have a harpist to see if they need someone to fill in for vacations?

Not this, since the venue will probably just try to see if they can get you cheaper and ditch the current harpist if you’ll do it for less. If you’re interested in subbing, talk to the harpist, not the people from the venue.

These days it’s no easy thing to get a steady gig that pays enough to make it worthwhile, so you’ll need to be clever about marketing. Yes, you need business cards, a website, etc.

To find out what to charge, talk to the other harpists in the area to find out what the going rate is. They can also be a good source for sub work and for referrals for single gigs like weddings and parties.