harpcolumn

Fantasie Hasselmans in D flat majorfor Harp And Orchestra

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists Fantasie Hasselmans in D flat majorfor Harp And Orchestra

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    mr-s

Hello , i have this score of this piece its a hand writing old papers got it from a russian friend harpist when i studied there, written Theodore Dubois may its the reductor or the publisher ,dont know, the music seems interesting its for Harp and piano i have but interested to know if you can tell if there is a new publication of it and where to find? . Thank you.

carl-swanson
    Participant

Theodore Dubois(1837-1924) was a French composer at the time of Hasselmans and Faure. He was also President of the Paris Conservatory for much of the time that Hasselmans taught there. He was definitely a follower of Faure and not Debussy, so he was very much an old school academic composer. It’s no surprise that he wrote something in tribute to Hasselmans.

I was not aware of this composition and would be interested to hear it. I’m not aware of any publication of it. So you may have something very rare indeed. I’d be very interested in hearing it.

mr-s

Oh Dear Carl thank you for telling me that i have a precious score.i should take care of the old papers i will try to scan it and copy it to use the copy ,hope the papers will not get damage through the process. I tried the music a little its beautiful remind me of Saintsans music .

mr-s

Hi Clinton , thank you for your informations, i will try to send you the first page the harp and piano are in the same page.

paul-wren
    Participant