harpcolumn

Exercise for good harp technique?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Exercise for good harp technique?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Tim Kelly
    Participant

Hello there! I’m new here, my name is Tim. Nice to meet you! I’m 24 and I’ve been taking harp lessons for a few months.

I was wondering if you guys and girls practice any specific exercises to improve your technique. I am just learning how to raise and it requires a lot of strength, or at least muscle endurance, as well as sitting up very straight. Do you actively try to strengthen those muscle groups or do you just practice?

Thanks very much!

PS: If anyone has any tips on beginner raising/gestures that would also come in handy. My hand often ends up floating in the air while the other hand plays. It’s a bit like trying to pat your head and rub your stomach! tricky. I think it will be easier the better I get at reading music and reading ahead, too.

tony-morosco
    Participant

I have always used (since my very first lesson) Salzedo’s Conditioning Exercises for Beginner and Advanced Harpists. I always begin and end my practice by running through a few of the exercises from this short book.

Sylvia Clark

I use the Salzedo Conditioning exercises (first 6) every day.

tony-morosco
    Participant

I never said I played them perfectly. I said I started using them the first lesson.

Sylvia Clark

The exercises use all four fingers of each hand, which is very advanced for a beginner.

Tim Kelly
    Participant

I’m very new to the idea of different schools of harp playing technique. My teacher is fond of Salzedo, so I’ve been learning that. I’m rather enjoying it, but I don’t know much about alternatives.