harpcolumn

Do I need Music Theory?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Do I need Music Theory?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    PassionateCross
    Participant

As a junior in high school, I’ve been playing the harp for three years. I’ve performed in front of my school various times. All I’ve been doing is sheet music reading, which are the basics of music theory. I also plan to to get a pedal harp someday. Moreover, do I need to advance in music theory if I want to play the harp at orchestras?

Karine Benoit
    Participant

Hello, 🙂 Although I have just started learning the harp, I have been playing the piano for 20 years and can more or less answer your question. I’ve started playing the piano with teachers that didn’t really believe in music theory, and I can tell you I wish it was the opposite! Music theory is important, in more than a way. Not only can you learn pieces and read sheet music faster, as you’ll recognize common note /rythym patterns, but it will also improve your overall playing as well as comprehension of the composition.

sherry-lenox
    Participant

YES!

tony-morosco
    Participant

Music Theory teaches you how music actually works. That should be desirable knowledge for anyone who even has a serious interest in music, not to mention who wants to make a living making music.

One day you will need to do something more than just play music off a completely arranged piece of sheet music. If you are going to make music your business then eventually you will need to arrange something, or alter an existing arrangement, or transpose something, or even be asked to improvise off a lead sheet, or asked to come up with an accompaniment to accompany cousin Jeanie who is going to sing at the wedding…