harpcolumn

Do adult amateurs have special problems learning harp?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Do adult amateurs have special problems learning harp?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    carl-swanson
    Participant

Well it’s been a while since we had an explosive subject here, and a couple of comments from adult amateurs on other threads got me thinking. Is there any good reason why adult amateurs cannot progress technically as well as children or serious(young) students?

I don’t want anyone to think I’m being mean and nasty here. I am not. I’m trying to address the issue, as a teacher, of dealing with adult amateurs who basically want to play repertoire that is beyond them technically. I’ve had limited experience teaching adults, but I have found a pattern to their approach to the harp that becomes a HUGE impediment to them learning harder repertoire. Here is what I have noticed…