harpcolumn

Dilsexic?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Dilsexic?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Have you had a dyslexic student, and how did you deal with it?

Kelly R
    Participant

Hi Saul.  I’m a student, not yet a teacher, but there is a really good article about teaching the dyslexic student in the ABRSM magazine Libretto Jan. 2005 issue p. 9 (available to view online – http://www.abrsm.org/resources/libretto/libretto0501.pdf )

e-nb
    Participant

Hi Kelly

unknown-user
    Participant

Some things that are useful in the broad context of education are color coding, movement and listening before reading ( Suzuki?), placing with eyes closed to learn interval distances, using tactile representations of visual tools. If you can do a hands on project, make a staff or the great staff using string glued onto paper, and have the student touch the pattern of strings while placing buttons for the notes, as a way of learning the relative position of notes on the staff.

So much depends on the individual- it really is necessary to find out what things the student can or can’t do, then develop a tool for remediating the deficit. Hope some of these suggestions were useful.

e-nb
    Participant

Hi Ann,

unknown-user
    Participant