harpcolumn

Curious about pedal harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Curious about pedal harp

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Norah Calamy

I’ve been playing lever harp for about 3 years now, and was curious as to when you ‘move up’ to pedal harp.

Also, do some people start with pedal harp right away?

Norah, you ask about “moving up” but think of it more as perhaps moving over, whenever:

Norah Calamy

Thanks, Patricia. Your suggestions and wise words were helpful! I’ll be giving the matter thought; the purchase won’t be for a while, for sure. 🙂

barbara-low
    Participant

I started on a pedal harp right away. I practiced on the harps owned by the unversity until I was able to purchase my own two years later.

Barbara

If you are asking, then I suspect you are ready.

tony-morosco
    Participant

I started on lever because at first the music I wanted to play was best suited for lever, and it was more affordable.

However I quickly developed a desire to play more chromatic music and so rented a pedal harp and started learning on that after about six months.

However due to finances and a move I had to give up that pedal harp and for many, many years had just my lever harp, and there was never a shortage of music for the lever harp to challenge and interest me.

However as finances got better I started to put aside money for a pedal harp because the music I really wanted to play I just couldn’t do on lever.

I still play on my lever harp. Some music just works better on it, and you can’t beat it for portability. I always, the right tool for the right job and sometimes the right tool is a pedal harp and sometimes a lever harp.