harpcolumn

Copyright license?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists Copyright license?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hi, I’m just a student but I wanted the advice of some professionals!

I have begun playing at restaurants as background music, and most of the pieces I play are 60’s pop songs, that’s I’ve purchased sheet music for. My teacher warned me of copyright laws, and that even if I own sheet music to a song I still don’t have the rights to play it in public? She said the laws change continuously so I should look into it since she wasn’t up to date with them.

I was curious if anyone out there knows more about this subject, or of any licenses that could protect me? Any advice or links to websites with more information would be greatly appreciated! If I plan to make a living out of performing popular music I need to smart up and know what I’m going into!

Thank you so much, God bless!

— Natalie

catherine-rogers
    Participant

It’s my understanding that this is not your problem. It’s the restaurant or other establishment’s responsibility to have a license from BMI, ASCAP and/or SESAC that permits it to provide live or recorded copyrighted music.

unknown-user
    Participant

My teacher did mention something along those lines, but she didn’t have the exact names so thank you very very much!

— Natalie

Natalie, The local Musicians’ Union (AFM/CIO)

barbara-fackler
    Participant