Contemporary wedding music

Ann on #146768

If you were to list your current “Wedding Top 10”, what would they be?

And more specifically, what do 2011 brides want? Do they stick with the old classical chestnuts or request modern pop tunes?

Sylvia Clark on #146769

I was hoping to see some responses here, just to see what’s going on out there.

Sylvia Clark on #146770

I’ll bring this up to the top again.

Ann on #146771

Thanks Sylvia!

I’m relatively new to performing though my gigs so far have gone smoothly. I’m working up Pachelbel’s Canon of course, and Clarke’s wedding march. If contemporary brides like that elegant classical feel I’ll keep going with that sort of era. And yet …

I’ve also added All I Have To Do Is Dream, Love Me Tender, and I Can’t Help Falling In Love from the 50’s & 60’s … and Red Sails In The Sunset from an earlier era … and Come To Me Bend To Me and My Heart Will Go On from the movies.

But where to go from here and how to appeal to today’s brides … I’m stumped!

Sylvia Clark on #146772

Just a note about the Titanic one.

Participant
    Rachel Redman on #146773

Right now, my brides are asking for a lot of classical. There are a few pop songs that, in my location, are standard. I’ve also had a bride who has asked for hymns, since its a church wedding. I guess my top ten staples would be:
    1.Canon in D
    2.Wedding March
    3.The Four Seasons by Vivaldi
    4.Intermezzo from Cavalleria Rusticana
    5.Watchet Auf
    6.Arioso by Bach
    7.Prince of Denmark’s March
    8.Hornpipe from Water Music
    9.Traumerei
    10.Etude in E Major by Chopin

For a younger bride, she might be looking for more pop. In that case, you could always try:
    1.You Raise Me Up by Groban
    2.The Prayer by Dion
    3.Forever in Love and The Wedding Song by Kenny G
    4.I Will Be Here by Chapman
    5.You’ll Be in My Heart (from Tarzan!)
    6. Ashokan Farewell by Ungar
    7.All I Ask of You and Think of Me by Webber