harpcolumn

Considering back to college for harp performance

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Considering back to college for harp performance

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Harper10
    Participant

Hi there! Do I have to go through a harp performance program to build the confidence and skillset of a professional harpist? Or,can I get there with private lessons?
    I would like to one day play with an orchestra (not the majors, smaller orchestras), play weddings and formal events and teach.

I have been taking harp lessons for about 5 years and at the end of last year progressed to a pedal harp. I am in my early 30s and am a digital marketer by trade. I earned my bachelors 10 years ago and am considering a career change and going back to school for harp. Right now I take weekly lessons with a private teacher but I crave more.

I’m scared to pursue this interest because one person told me that it’s hard to support yourself financially as a harpist. In addition, I’m scared of taking on school debt. I currently am debt free after a lot of hard work. So I could afford to go back to school but I’m trying to weigh if it’s worth it…especially taking all the gen eds.

Is it possible to reach a professional level doing private lessons only or do I really need a degree? What types of viable jobs are there for harpists other that teacher, orchestra member, performer (weddings, funerals, special events) and studio musician?

Any insight, advice or encouragement is much appreciated!

Philippa mcauliffe
    Participant