Colleges…..for majoring in Harp Performance

Posted In: Young Harpists

• Participant
    unknown-user on #167355

Hello,
    My name is Alizabeth, and I have been playing the harp for 4 years.
    I am a very serious harpist, and I am advanced for playing only 4
    years.

Spectator
    marguerite-lynn-williams on #167356

Liz-

Congrats on pursuing the harp on so few years! I also went to school to major in harp with only about 4 years of harp study.

When you are considering schools, you should also think about what method the teacher follows…since you haven’t been playing for a huge amount of time, it may hold you back to change techniques of playing at this point.

I would suggest adding Chicago College of Performing Arts(Sarah Bullen) and Northwestern University (Elizabeth Cifani) to your list of options.

Good luck with your search for a school!

Participant
    unknown-user on #167357

There are many more good schools, some much better than some you have listed, in my thinking. It depends on what you want and what you are prepared for.

What is your best repertoire? Are you a junior or senior?