harpcolumn

Cheap pedal harp?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Cheap pedal harp?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hi guys, I’m a fairly advanced cellist and thought I’d like to try something new, so I’ve been looking at some harps to try to pick up. From what i’ve read a pedal harp is the kind of thing i’d want. Thing is, whenever I look at some online they all cost at least $10,000 :). So I was wondering if any of you more experienced harpists have any idea about a cheap pedal harp for a beginner? I could always go lever, I mean i don’t mind, but pedal harp just seems cool for like classical and stuff. Thanks a lot!!

dawn-penland
    Participant

Hi John,

I started playing the cello when I was 10, then took up the harp at age 11.

Tacye
    Participant

It is quite easy to get a pedal harp for under $10 000- second hand 40 or 41 string instrument seem to be relatively easily available.

unknown-user
    Participant

Hi, thanks for the advice. At the moment I have a $2000 cello, which is pretty good quality. I’d like to try to get a harp for under that. My very first cellos I rented from my teacher, but the first one I owned was $1400, it was more of a student/beginner’s cello i suppose. Would you say that this is essentially the price range for used harps as well?

dawn-penland
    Participant

You could find a used lever harp in that price range.

tony-morosco
    Participant

I’m sorry but you are not going to find a playable pedal harp for $2,000.

around $10,000 is the average for the least expensive, decent, new pedal harps.