harpcolumn

Changing Teachers

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Changing Teachers

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Lily
    Participant

Hi all, would like to ask for advice.

I have been learning pedal harp professionally for 2 years(starting in 2017) and wish to enter a conservatoire in another 2 years.
    (I have a diploma in violin)

I rushed my learning process for an audition this year(2019),and thus my foundations are not stable. My current teacher is following “my plans”, in a sense that I tell her of my plans Of targeting various auditions by next year etc… and we work on the repetoire for it.
    Nothing much on technical work.

For further context, she takes in only students going professional, and most( if not all) of her students started around 6-7 years. I was 18 when I started, and am 20 this year.

What I realised on my own is that I have been to tunnel visioned. So I plan to have a revamp on my foundations and tell her about it. ( I am no longer in a rush to enter)

The problem is now, if she is unable to guide me to where I want after a couple of months. I have no idea of who I should swap too.

I have asked around for other Teachers, one I have in mind is teacher X, who is teaching in a conservatoire, but she dislikes teaching fundamentals and can be slightly abrasive.
    But she has taught older students and they have entered into conservatories.

Teacher Y, is very patient and willing to work through fundamentals. But I have no idea if she’s able to bring me to a conservatoire standard in 2-3 years .

Any advice would be appreciated! Thank you.