harpcolumn

Changing Pedal Felts?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Changing Pedal Felts?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Aria
    Participant

I had my Venus Pedal Harp professionally regulated a year and a half ago.   I live 3 hours from the nearest major city.   So although there are quite a few harp technicians that live in, or travel to those cities,  there are none that come to my area.  Trying to get someone here last time was like pulling teeth!   And I got lucky the last time, as the technician that came to me happened to be 7 hours away, and was willing to drive all that way!!!!    But I don’t know when the next time is coming that I will be that fortunate.    I am not a professional harpist.  But I do play at least an hour or more on a daily basis.  I’ve been heavily practicing repertoire that has a lot of rigorous pedal changes.   So now,  some of my pedal felts are starting to shred.   Others are really packed down with obvious deep dents.    I have all the materials to change the pedal felts myself and lots of instructions and resources on how to do it.    So I feel confident that I can do it.    What I don’t understand, is how will this affect the regulation once I change the felts?    Really,  I could use a total regulation.  But as I said, it’s not possible at the moment.    Should I just go ahead and change the felts though?    Or…….  is there some way to learn how to do the regulation myself?    Again, I’d hire someone if I could.   But as I said, my options are pretty limited so I need to get creative here.    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

charles-nix
    Participant