harpcolumn

Buying a new harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Buying a new harp

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Jenny Li

Hey guys,

I just recently decided to pick up harp playing, and now I want to buy an instrument! I was just wondering if you guys knew where to get small (19-22 string) harps for a reasonable price, since I’m still a college student and don’t have much money to spare! This is just going to be a hobby of mine, so I don’t need an exquisite harp, but I would like an instrument with a good sound that could last me a while. Thanks.

P.S. I don’t have a teacher or anything (I already play several string instruments and played a small harp a little bit), and I live in NC, if that helps.

Gillian Bradford
    Participant

Lots of places sell these small harps. Try Music Makers as they have a couple of kits that you can put together yourself quite affordably with decent sound. All you need is a screw driver and some time. Blevins make small harps also and many like them. I’m sure others will also point you in the right direction.

The only other thing I can say is that with less than 26 strings will you find repertoire rather limiting, unless of course you plan on composing and arranging music yourself. The harp is one of those instruments that require range to be really satisfying musically. But if you are happy with that limitation then go for it.

barbara-brundage
    Participant

If you’re around Asheville this weekend you might want to pop over to Southeastern Harp Festival at Lutheridge Center:

http://www.southeasternharps.com/SEHW/Vendor_Hall_and_Shopper_Pass.html

You can get a pass to the vendor hall without purchasing the conference registration.

Rachel
    Participant

The cheapest out there are the harpsicle series and the Dusty Strings Ravenna 26.