harpcolumn

Buying a lap harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Buying a lap harp

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    elore-williams
    Participant

Hi I am a beginner and I want to buy a lap harp. I am thinking of anything around 22 strings, that I can carry around easily. Portability is important. There are no harpmakers near me so I need to buy them online, but I find it difficult to compare sound quality over the internet. Although I am a beginner, I am very picky about sounds and I want a harp that I can love for years. I am not looking for a simple beginner harp to chuck away after two years for a better one. I have been looking at Eve from stoney end and timothy innisfree (26 strings) from a used harp website. The prie is roughly the same ($1500-1600) because I want truit levers for the Eve if I do get it. Can anyone advise me which may be better? Or can someone compare either of them to a dusty strings instrument? They seem to have good reviews generally. Does anyone know if these harps match what I am looking for, or recommend me another? Thank you so much for the help in advane 🙂

Allison Stevick
    Participant

I have heard lots of good things about the Stoney End Eve. I don’t own one, but everyone who has one says it sounds great, and I agree from what I’ve seen/heard on YouTube. I don’t know anything about the Innisfree, though I’ve heard that Timothy harps are also good. To throw something else into the mix, I have heard very good things about Blevins harps, and they have many different models to choose from. They will play harps over the phone for you for further discerning than just the sound clips on their site. I hope that’s at least a little bit helpful! 🙂
    p.s.-Truitt levers are definitely my favorite, too.