harpcolumn

Buying a 2nd lever harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Buying a 2nd lever harp

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    lemonyellow
    Participant

I’m a beginner who has been playing just over 1 year. I’m working on RCM Toronto Grade 4 pieces now, and will probably do my Grade 6 exam next year. I’m also an elementary school music teacher by day. When I get home from work I’m flat out exhausted and I can’t focus to practice until Saturday. I’d like to keep a 2nd harp at school so I can practice in the morning or day time when I’m fresher, and maybe to accompany when my students are singing. Ideally I’d like to take this harp travelling with me when I go away in summer or when I drive the 16-hr trip to see my parents and family back home at Christmas/summer break. I currently have a Ravenna 34 that I’m very happy with. It just fits in my tiny car (Honda Fit). I was thinking of getting the Ravenna 26. My question is, how do I play my rep on 26 string harp when most if goes down to at least G3. Do I play everything up an octave? I tried that with some of my pieces and it just feels so awkward. Am I better off saving up the difference and getting another 34 string harp? It’s just so heavy to travel with, and I can’t imagine taking a beast like that on a road trip or camping. I’m so afraid it will get damaged in transit or by the weather (it’s really really dry here, but temperate rain forest where my parents live). Sometimes I fly to my parents’ because it’s too dangerous to drive in winter, but I can’t imagine it’s that much easier to travel with a 26-string, either instrument would need its own seat or ‘the hold’ in a hard case $$$$, so airline-friendly is not a necessity (just a wish).