harpcolumn

Busy Mole Harps

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Busy Mole Harps

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Folk Harpie
    Participant

Hello everyone,

since I’m a newbie here, I hope I won’t make a mess!

I’ve been looking somewhere else in the forums but it seems that there isn’t any topic about this subject.

So the question is: does anyone knows the harps made by Busy Mole Music? They’re makers of small harps, lyres & psalteries, Derbyshire based. I’ve had a look at the harp section of their website, they sell the usual mid-east round back harps, that awful stuff that seems to be everywhere lately. But there’s another section where they show their own harps. I’d be glad to know something more about their instruments, they look interesting…well, at least some of them!

tea-s-k
    Participant

I own one of their bardic harps as my second harp(my primary harp is a great sounding 34 floorharp from blevins). I is not a masterpiece a all, but it is fine to bring along everywhere where I would hesitate to bring something more expensive. camping, weekendtrips to family and so on. The reason for buying this was it small size, it’s ability to be used in middleage themed festivals and it’s price.
    As said it is not a masterpiece and not very loud and on mine the two lowest strings are a bit too loose. Keep in mind the number of strings – very few pieces play well with both hands om this one(but they are out there especially middleage ones), but the right hand pattern can often be praticed normally. In ears of nonmusicans in my family( how have never heard a harp) it sounds enchanting when I play at it. Keep in mind that it will take time to get it since he makes it himselfand I think it is partly a hobby for him, but good service.